Feb 1 California Thoroughbred Breeders Association Winter Mixed Sale 2022 HIPS
Feb 6 Inglis Classic Yearling Sale 2022 HIPS
Feb 7 Fasig-Tipton Kentucky Winter Mixed Sale 2022 HIPS
Feb 14 Magic Millions Perth Yearling Sale 2022 HIPS
Feb 21 Magic Millions Tasmanian Yearling Sale 2022 HIPS
View All Auctions

Moore Again Claims Longines World's Best Jockey Title

Moore also won this international award in 2014 and 2016.

Ryan Moore at this year's Breeders' Cup at Del Mar

Ryan Moore at this year's Breeders' Cup at Del Mar

Anne M. Eberhardt

After winning six different qualifying races on five different horses in four different countries, Ryan Moore has won the title of 2021 Longines World's Best Jockey. 

The European-based rider dominated the standings for most of the year en route to winning the competition for the third time. Moore also was named the Longines World's Best Jockey in 2014 and 2016. 

In 2021 Moore won six of the world's top 100 group or grade 1 races, with his qualifying victories coming in the Longines Hong Kong Vase (G1) (Mogul), Al Quoz Sprint Sponsored by Azizi Developments (G1) (Extravagant Kid), Prince of Wales's Stakes (G1) (Love), Diamond Jubilee Stakes (G1) (Dream of Dreams), Coral-Eclipse Stakes (G1) (St Mark's Basilica), and Irish Champion Stakes (G1) (St Mark's Basilica). 

St Mark’s Basilica ridden by Ryan Moore wins the Irish Champion Stakes (Group 1).<br>
Leopardstown Racecourse.<br>
Photo: Patrick McCann/Racing Post
Ryan Moore aboard St Mark's Basilica after their Irish Champion Stakes victory at Leopardstown Racecourse

The scoring process rewards jockeys for finishing in the top three, giving Moore a total of 112 points on the year. William Buick was a close second with 104 points while James McDonald ended the year in third with 96 points. No other jockey in the world scored above 68 points.

The top United States-based rider, John Velazquez, ranked sixth with 62 points. The full and final standings for the 2021 Longines World's Best Jockey competition can be found at

The awarding of the Longines World's Best Jockey title is based upon performances in the 100 highest-rated group 1 and grade 1 races as established for the year by the Longines World's Best Racehorse Rankings Committee. The scoring incorporates races from Dec. 1 of the previous year through Nov. 30 of the current year. Jockeys accrue 12 points for a win, six points for placing second, and four points for placing third.

Now a three-time winner of the competition, Moore was the inaugural recipient of the Longines World's Best Jockey Award, which was established in 2014. Only Frankie Dettori, a four-time winner, has won the title more often. Additionally, Hugh Bowman took the title in 2017. 

Moore will be honored in mid-January when the 2021 Longines World's Best Racehorse and Longines World's Best Horse Race winners are announced.

The Longines World's Best Jockey Award was established by Swiss watch brand Longines and the IFHA as a way to quantitatively recognize a jockey as the best among his or her global peers. It marked the first time a rider was honored in such a way.